Each year, ALWD and LWI jointly sponsor a national survey of legal writing programs. The survey collects data on program design, curriculum, salary, workload, and status issues. Almost all law schools in the U.S. participate in these surveys.

The ALWD/LWI 2016-2017 Survey is now complete!

Survey Revision Subcommittee

Jodi Wilson (Chair)

Members Serving 2013-2018

     Meredith Arden

     Ted Becker

     Peter Nemerovski

Members Serving 2013-2016

     Jan Levine

     Ban Bratman

     Michael Oeser

Members Serving 2013-14

    Judy Rosenbaum

Lead Author for Revised Survey

Ken Chestek

2016-2017 Survey Administration Sub-committee

Alyssa Dragnich (Chair)

Raul Fernandez-Calienes

Kristin Knudsen

Gail Mullins

Dyane O'Leary

Judy Rosenbaum

Marci Rosenthal

Susie Salmon

The joint ALWD/LWI Survey Committee is happy to announce that the report of the first administration of the new and improved Annual Survey is ready! 

Over the past two decades, ALWD and LWI have jointly conducted this annual survey to gather information about LRW programs and LRW faculty.  This information allows us to better understand the evolution of our field and to support arguments in favor of strengthening the legal writing curriculum and improving the citizenship rights of legal writing faculty. 

Achieving the outstanding 89% response rate for the 2016-2017 survey and producing the polished, detailed survey report is an arduous and time-consuming task undertaken by the Survey Administration Subcommittee of the Survey Committee, led by Chairs Alyssa Dragnich. The Survey Administration Subcommittee included Raul Fernandez-Calienes, Kristin Knudsen, Gail Mullins, Dyane O’Leary, Judy Rosenbaum, Marci Rosenthal, and Susie Salmon.  The LWI and ALWD Boards are grateful to Survey Administration Subcommittee members for their diligent work, and we hope that you will let them know that you are grateful as well.

As you may recall, another subcommittee of the Survey Committee undertook the substantial overhaul of the survey.  The 2014-2015 survey was the last survey administered under the original methodology, developed in the 1990s.  This year’s survey included new questions and a new methodology for analyzing responses.  This overhaul required the efforts of many people over several years, including Meredith Aden, Ted Becker, Ben Bratman, Ken Chestek, Jan Levine, Peter Nemerovski, Michael Oeser, Judy Rosenbaum, and Chair of the Survey Revision Subcommittee, Jodi Wilson.  Ken Chestek was the lead author of the revised survey instrument.  Please join us in thanking each of these hard-working committee members for their efforts on behalf of the legal writing community.

(scroll down to access all surveys)